Delegate

Home

Unitrunker has a very effective mechanism for linking two or more systems so that they share groups and users. Each system carries a list of sites. One system is designated as the delegate system. The other systems delegate the responsibility of managing groups and users to the delegate system. This feature was carried over from the Unitrunker Retro days.

Delegation is accomplished in the XML by setting the System element's delegate attribute to the system ID of the delegate system - located elsewhere in the XML file.

When one system is delegated to another, the groups in the system's Groups tab are actually taken from the groups in the delegate system. The two are identical. When editing these groups, you're actually editing the group under the delegate system. Likewise for Users. One clue you're looking at a delegated system is the count of Groups and Users is zero in the Systems grid yet the Groups and Users tabs actually have data.

With the publication of release 26, it is possible for you to manually link two or more systems together. Two tool buttons were added to the System view to facilitate this; delegate and consolidate. To learn more about the consolidate button, look here.

Clicking the delegate button prompts you to pick a destination system. The groups and users from the current system window will be moved to the destination system. If there are conflicts in any of the labels, groups and/or user merge window will appear asking you to resolve the differences eg. which to accept and which to discard. This is the same window used to resolve conflicts in data from the RR DB download. Once you're done, the original system remains along with its sites but will always refer to the delegate system for group and user data.

The list of viable destination systems conforms to the following restictions:

Caution: this operation is not reversible. In the interest of data integrity, go to the archive tab and click on the Save button to preserve your existing data before attempting any delegate or consolidate operations. If you end up with a mess, use the Archive tab's "Take Me Back" button to restore your sanity.

Why would you want to do this? Good question. Here are some scenarios.

APCO P25: you monitor a large wide-area P25 system that has some sites under one SysID and others under another SysID. The group and user IDs are shared. Generally, these systems share the same WACN (not a requirement of the software). Use the delegate button to link the two together. Note this scenario is very rare.

EDACS: you monitor a large wide-area EDACS system that has multiple sites with duplicate site numbers. Use the delegate button to link them together while keeping the sites separate. However, if site numbers are unique, use consolidate instead.

Motorola: you know two separate system are managed by one organization that keeps groups and users coordinated (eg. the same group and user is valid on both systems). Use the delegate button to combine your groups and users into one place and avoid duplicate edits.

Motorola Omnilink: you know one system is part of a large Omnilink network. Use Delegate to link the two.

MPT1327: use consolidate, not delegate with this trunking type. Also beware the data model for MPT1327 has changed with release 26.

LTR: none of this is applicable to LTR or Passport (until LTR-Net is supported).

If none of the above scenarios apply, don't touch these buttons! Ask questions on the RR forum or the Google group.

© Copyright 2013 Rick Parrish